Skip to content
March 17, 2011 / Dave Gorham

Get Your Green On: Why TV Meteorologists ALWAYS Get Pinched on St. Patty’s Day

If you’re not wearing green, I think I’ll have to pinch you! But wait…I’m not wearing green and I don’t want to get pinched, so I better be nice. However, I do have an excuse for not wearing green.  Every day I’m in front of a chroma key wall for a good part of my morning producing weather videos, so if I were to wear green all of the weather maps would show up on my clothes and that wouldn’t be good!

I want to wish all of you a Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! It’s actually a public holiday in the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Newfoundland and Labrador and in Montserrat. But it’s also widely celebrated in the U.K., Canada, the U.S., Argentina, Australia and New Zealand, as well as others.

What exactly is Saint Patrick’s Day? It’s a religious holiday celebrated internationally on March the 17th. It’s named after Saint Patrick who’s the most commonly recognized of the patron saints of Ireland. The Roman Catholic Church, the Anglican Communion, the Eastern Orthodox Church and Lutherans all observe it. When I think of Saint Patrick’s Day I automatically think of Ireland (Dublin to be exact) and all of the festivities.

When I was in 10th grade at Moody High School (in Moody, AL), I went to Dublin and marched in the Saint Patrick’s Day parade. At the time, I was a majorette in my high school band and we were invited to participate in the parade. But that was a LONG time ago and I can honestly tell you I can’t remember much about it (that goes to show you just how long ago it was when high school is a distant memory). While I was there, I do remember that I kissed the Blarney Stone. Legend has it that kissing the stone will endow the kisser with the gift of gab (great eloquence or skill at flattery). I’d say the legend is true.

This obviously isn’t me because we didn’t have digital cameras back then. Ha-ha. Plus, I don’t know if I’d want to post a picture of me from 10th grade! Photo: Wikipedia

By now, the St. Patrick’s Day parade is over in Dublin but the festivities continue into the weekend. Currently it’s 5:00pm GMT (12:00pm Central time) in Dublin so the parade earlier today was noon their time. More than 500,000 people were in attendance for today’s parade.

2011 Saint Patrick’s Day Parade in Dublin. Photo: AP

You know me being a meteorologist, I’m automatically thinking about the weather in Ireland today. They’ve seen a few to scattered clouds throughout the day with temperatures currently in the mid 40’s and winds out of the north-northwest at 8 mph. Temperatures tonight are expected to drop into the upper 20’s to lower 30’s with partly to mostly cloudy skies. There will be a chance of showers on Friday with highs near 50ºF.

Here’s an outlook for today at 6pm (local time) or 1pm (CDT). Look for a slight chance of showers tomorrow. Image: ImpactWeather Gmaps 2.0

Here’s the current satellite of Ireland and the UK at 5pm (local time). Skies will be mostly cloudy tonight. Image: Weather Underground

I’m sure a lot of folks here in the U.S. are busy finalizing their St. Patty’s Day plans for tonight. I know a lot of people will probably be hitting the Irish pubs, but for some reason a cheeseburger and fries is sounding good to me right now. But no matter where you go or what you do, make sure you have your green on! Thanks to Dave, I’m officially wearing green…a green three-leaf clover. I asked him why he didn’t get me a four-leaf clover because I think it would have brought me better luck. Let’s face it, I need as much luck as I can get!

Leave a Reply

